Una mantita para el cuco | Baby quilt for the Moses basket

Después de terminar el conjunto de pañalera y cambiador (Omar, ¡bienvenido al mundo! Espero que ya estés disfrutando de tus piruletas…), me sobró un poquito de tela de esta colección y, como me encanta, pensé que podría usarla para hacer una mini mantita preciosa como la que mi profe, Cris, le ha hecho a Chus para su futuro nieto. 
El modelo es el mismo, con algunas variaciones sobre todo en la parte central, porque hace tiempo que no tejo y me daba un poco de pereza, así que me puse a pensar. Y pensando, pensando, pensé que quizá podría reciclar una bufanda muy tiernita que me regalaron hace un tiempo. ¡Dicho y hecho! Un cortecito por aquí, una costurita por allá, y muchos cosidos y descosidos después (madre mía, ¡qué difícil es coser punto tejido!): ¡voilà!

After finishing the set of diaper clutch and changing mat  (welcome to this world, little Omar, I hope you are enjoying your lollipops…) I had a rest of fabric left from this collection. And I love it, so I thought that I could make a small quilt just like the one Cris, my patchwork teacher, made for Chus‘ future grandson.
It is the same pattern, with some variations on the central piece. It’s been a long time since I last knitted and, to be honest, I didn’t feel like doing it, so I began to think… And thinking and thinking, I thought that maybe I could recycle a very soft scarf that I got as a gift some time ago. No sooner said than done! A little cut this side, a little seam on that… and after a lot of sewing and unsewing (oh my, how difficult it is sewing along a knitted piece): voilà!
Las calles laterales están hechas con la técnica del vuelo de la oca, que Cristina me he enseñado a hacer de una forma más precisa, con una regla especial para cortar con exactitud, y mucho más rápida.
The borders are made with a patchwork technique known as flying geese. Cristina taught me how to sew it precisely and how to cut it with a special rule to make exact and quicker cuts.
En el bolsillo frontal he bordado sencillamente una A, la inicial del nombre de mi hijo… el problema es que mi hijo no tiene cuco. Pensé entonces usarla como cambiador, pero es que tampoco cabe ya… Pero es bonita, ¿no?
On the front pocket, I embroidered a simple A, the initial of my son’s name. There is a problem, my son doesn’t have a Moses basket. So I thought I could use it as a changing mat… Nope. He is too tall now. It is cute anyway, don’t you think?

Responder

